Hypocrite, Francis the Terrorist: 5 Things I’ve Learnt from the pre-Papal Visit Hype

1. The typical Filipino Catholic is a hypocrite

Pope Francis has said a lot of things about the poor. Most of them run along the lines of “The poor are victims and we must help them”. But this Facebook thread regarding the vendors who were evicted as part of ‘beautification’ efforts for the Papal visit shows that the majority of the participants (presumably all Catholics) view the poor as ‘spoiled brats’, ‘criminals’, ‘eye sores’, and all other sorts of derogatory stereotypes.

While millions of Catholics would rather risk being crushed or trampled to death to touch a non-living object (a statute) as an expression of their religion, it seems they would rather go to hell than obey the Second Commandment: Love your neighbor as you would love yourself.

2. Filipino Catholic Churchmen are just like us: mortal, imperfect, biased, and some just hate typhoon Yolanda victims

“To comfort the victims of typhoon Yolanda” is one of the stated objectives of the Papal visit to the Philippines. Yet the Archdiocese of Palo (the division of the Catholic Church responsible for the province of Leyte) deliberately screened out members of ‘People Surge’, the ONLY organization of Yolanda victims, from any of the activities.

The reason is simple: the ‘Princes’ of the Church are mere mortals, just like the rest of us. They each have their own biases and other beliefs. Pope Francis is biased for the poor to the point where he has been called a Marxist (yet he says Marxists are not bad people per se). The bishops of Leyte, on the other hand, hate People Surge because they are perceived as Leftists.

3. Media is running out of crappy topics to disguise who the Pontiff really is

As an independent journalist friend pointed out, media coverage of the Papal Visit sucks. College newspapers could do a better job (with the exception of UST’s Varsitarian, of course), especially with regards to the select group of Filipino journalists in the Pope’s entourage.

I mean, Lynda Jumilla sucks. She could have passed a letter from the thousands of advocacies and organizations in the Philippines that could’ve used a little ‘Holy intervention’. Instead, she gave a sucky drawing from her children. Really?

Could it be that media is deathly afraid of Pope Francis and his views on labor? After all, he said “Let’s say with all our hearts: no worker without rights, no person without dignified labor“. This is not something the big TV networks would like to hear: GMA-7 and ABS-CBN both have recently terminated many employees for complaining about the companies’ anti-labor practices.

So instead, they hand out crappy shit to the Pope while distracting us with useless trivia about the churches where he will be saying Mass.

4. Pope Francis is a Terrorist

Contrary to what the government has told us, there is a terror threat during the Papal visit. But it’s not against the Pontiff: HE IS the terror threat. Against who? Why, the Aquino administration and the Philippine political system in general!

As the government’s “intelligence” agency said last December, it is afraid that communist rebels will try and get the sympathy of Pope Francis. Wait, “TRY”? Are they saying that there is a possibility or even probability?

But of course.

Imagine that someone gets to tell Francis the real state of the nation. Imagine if he tells Yolanda victims and taxpayers to “tie the corrupt to a rock and throw them to the sea” (hope Dinky Soliman knows how to swim). Imagine if he tells labor unions to aim for “no worker without rights”. Imagine if he tells the youth to rebel and to be revolutionaries (actually, he already did).

5. I was born an Atheist, Pope Francis made me a Catholic, and Filipinos pushed me back

For as long as I can remember, I hated having ‘Catholic’ in my birth certificate and other legal documents. It was forced on me before I was born. Then in grade school, we had religion class.

There were only two moments in life when I wasn’t ashamed of being Catholic: the first when I read about Liberation Theology, the second was when I saw a collection of quotes attributed to the Pope.

I was like “if this is the essence of Catholicism, boy, then sign me up for more!”

And then I saw the typical Filipino Catholic in action.

This entry was posted in reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Hypocrite, Francis the Terrorist: 5 Things I’ve Learnt from the pre-Papal Visit Hype

  1. Milagrosa says:

    Pope Francis doesn’t so bad. I don’t really understand if you’re saying that the Pope being a terrorist is a good or a bad thing. But you’re right, the media coverage is not telling us a lot about the pope. They just keep having the repetitive talks of “charity, love, etc” although I’ve read some articles about Pope Francis saying that he’s actually pro-poor, pro-activists and more. I wish they would talk more about the Pope’s stands on social issues.

    Anyway, you seem to think of yourself as superior among others after I read #5. Filipino catholics may not be the most enlightened, most brilliant group of people but it’s a bit saddening to learn of people like you who talk about them like that. For all we know, each and everyone of us are just trying to make the best out of life. Their logic and actions based on faith might be questionable, but who’s to say that your beliefs are perfect? I think, given the chance, most of them (Filipino Catholics) would try to understand the gist of their religion better. Not everyone knows which is right from wrong initially, and we all make mistakes. Maybe try reaching out to them and questioning them in a respectful manner. But then again, the way you phrased things might actually work better as an eye opener to them.

    • Natasha says:

      It was said in the article that Pope Francis is a “terrorist” because his beliefs are similar to those of the activists who are deemed terrorists in this country. So I think – from what I understand – he is not implying that Pope Francis is bad and is actually a terrorist. 🙂

    • ._. says:

      One’s belief being not perfect or being fallible is not a reason for one to be silent. One can argue that the tone of the author is classified as “not respectful.” That is because those people do not show anything to respect. You mention that this article may be an eye opener. Truth be told, their eyes are already open, and they are trying their best to close it.

    • Markus says:

      I think what the author is trying to say is that in spirit, Catholicism is, by any standard, a pretty decent religion (I shall ignore their unrepentant stand on Basic Human Rights, like the choice of sexual partners between consenting adults, etc., etc.) and if followed by the spirit of the doctrine, is pretty awesome.

      I think what the author is saying that he sees the hypocrisy of the ‘faithful’. Seriously, stand on a street corner, and 99 out of a hundred people are stone-faced hypocrites that can AND WILL plausibly justify their own hypocrisy to themselves. Because they are trying ‘to make the best out of life’.
      That would disgust anyone who is trying to be a Catholic in mind, body, and soul.

      Kinda like how Islam is constantly touted as a religion of peace, but then you get fundamentalist terrorists and must-be-subservient-and-inferior women thrown in the mix.

      Filipino Catholics may not be the most enlightened, most brilliant group of people . . . but then spiritual enlightenment and intellectual brilliance are not requirements to become good, or even halfway decent Catholics now, is it?

      Point #5 is valid.

      (BTW, no, I am not a homosexual. Yes, I am a hypocrite myself . . . but at least I can readily admit it. No, I am neither a Catholic or of Islam.)

  2. Hardcore (Filipina) Catholic says:

    Catholicism is about loving Jesus and Jesus, loving us.

    Human love is imperfect. That is why despite of our love for our religion, we still tend to contradict it with our actions and decisions. Don’t we all contradict our own beliefs and principles most of te time? This is also the reason why our faith is not based on how our fellow Catholics behave or how our Pope is projected by the media. These things are actions of human beings. They are imperfect. They will dissappoint us. A faith based on things like these is weak and shallow.

    Instead, we look at Jesus’s love. That, on the other hand, is perfect. With His perfect love, He is able to look at all of us, the “hypocrites”, and see the true intentions of our heart (something we can never do).

    So, don’t let your dissappointment with the Filipino Catholics ruin your faith. Let it inspire you to be a better Catholic. Don’t look for the perfect religion with the perfect kind of people, that doesn’t exist. Look instead at the perfect God who loves us perfectly.

    I am saying this both to defend my fellow Filipino Catholics who I know are doing their best to love Jesus with all their heart, mind, and soul (even if they mess up big time most of the time), and to help you realize the one thing Catholicism is about: LOVE (which encompasses everything good in the world and in heaven).

    we dont believe in tolerating our mistakes. We believe in not letting these mistakes keep us from loving and accepting others and having a strong faith in Jesus. These mistakes don’t make us bad Catholics. The mistakes will be there, regardless of the religion, or the presence of it. It is the way we handle these mistakes, which like what the Pope says, with mercy and compassiom, that make us Catholic. God bless you!

    • ra says:

      Well, this is precisely the logic that made me turn to agnosticism and/or atheism at an early age: a religion that conveniently ignores this world for ‘the next’ (if such a thing exists)

      • Not really. As I’ve read, it works like this: Atheism/agnosticim deals with matter or the physical world. Budhism is deeply focused on the spiritual and unseen things while Christianity/Monotheism both acknowledges the existence of the physical and the spiritual and the importance of both.

      • ra says:

        I suppose what you are trying to say is that Christianity deals with both the physical and spiritual worlds, am I right? If yes, then here’s news for you: what’s written in a book is way different from real life. That’s my entire point: Christianity (and other religions, in general) also deal with this world, to be precise, the betterment of the situation of the poor. But how Christians act is very different.

      • So basically, you’re attacking the people under Christianity and not the ideology of Christianity itself?

      • Raphe says:

        ‘If such thing exists’? Well if not; you enjoyed your life, I enjoyed mine. If yes, you will not enjoy your next life, I will and I am sure of that!

  3. ._. says:

    “… I was like “if this is the essence of Catholicism, boy, then sign me up for more!”

    And then I saw the typical Filipino Catholic in action.”

    Then, is the “typical Filipino Catholic in action” the essence of Catholicism? You failed to create a strong establishment between these two sentences. The acts do not influence the belief. It is the belief that influences the acts. As it stands, you are implying that you can be easily swayed by other people. One can pretend that he/she is a member of a well-known community and behave in a manner opposite to the teachings of that community, and you will fall for it hook, line and sinker.

    • ra says:

      I think the point that I was trying to raise was a challenge to the ‘typical Filipino Catholic’ to act according to the essence of Catholicism. It’s not about me and whether I will ‘fall for it hook, line, and sinker’. Catholics should be more concerned about concretely showing their love for the poor, marginalized, voiceless, and powerless, instead of defending the ‘correctness’ of their faith.

      • Penson Joven says:

        how can you say its not about you?

        “I was born an Atheist, Pope Francis made me a Catholic, and Filipinos pushed me back.”

        it only means your faith wavered.

      • Kenneth says:

        ‘typical Filipino Catholic’ – it doesn’t mean that you should be a ‘typical Filipino Catholic’. and it doesn’t mean you should also leave because of the ‘typical Filipino Catholic’ and a typical ‘Filipino Catholic isn’t a perfect Catholic’ – its part of being a human, why not try to live a life of a True Catholic.

      • ra says:

        and what is the life of a ‘true’ Catholic?

      • Kenneth says:

        You point out the ” essence of Catholicism” and you don’t know what/how to be a ‘true Catholic’? So what is the “essence of Catholicism” shouldn’t it be interconnected/related with each other? It is true however that there are many, maybe most Catholic may be Hypocrite, Unfaithful to the teachings, A ‘Sinner’ in other words, but mind you that God did come for them (Sinners).

  4. I don’t understand the aim of this article. This is just your thoughts trying to gain media attention. Seek spiritual guidance even if your an atheist (a person who doesn’t believe in God). And may God forgive you when you die as an atheist. All people are mortal and prone to corruption. May God bless you!

  5. You gave very good points! You’ve said the things I wanted to say for a long time. =) I’ll share this post if you don’t mind?

  6. crazycurly202 says:

    What’s with all this negativities when people are on the positive mood. Instead, of critizing Catholicism because of some of its crooked followers, why not set a good example yourself. What have you done so far? Are you that all good? Bad followers do not equate to bad religion. Can you give any which has 100% good followers? Why are you not affiliated in any if there is? Will your presence make them less than 100% good? Think about these please. Correct me if I’m wrong.

    • ra says:

      I cant think about THIS because of the atrocious grammar. Please rewrite using a dictionary or thesaurus, and then re-comment. Then we’ll talk.

      • Slidey says:

        Proof that logic, grammar and clarity of argument nowadays is bested by having a “positive mood”.

  7. jcarped says:

    First, I’m fascinated with the points you’ve written here because I strongly agree with most of them. I’m an atheist myself, a freethinker, as most call it. As free as I can get in thinking for myself, I am offended when someone said in a comment way back there that “God forgive you when you die as an atheist” (non verbatim). This is the kind of words from Christians that gets under my nerves real quick because personally, I respect everyone and their beliefs because it is theirs but I don’t respect the way they think because it insults the way I think. (Maybe one of the comment is right about superiority complex, I think you, me and all atheist share that).

    I am young and an atheist and I really like Pope Francis not because I am “swayed” to being something opposed to what I label myself but because of what he stands for aside from spreading the words in the bible. I like the way he thinks because he’s intelligent and very open-minded and that’s what a few here who commented should acquire.

    He refers to Christians and he refers to non-Christians but he doesn’t shove down non-Christians throats anything Christian because he respects everyone equally regardless of principles and beliefs and that’s when he got my respect. Do any of the ones who commented here that atheists, technically, are sinners and should be forgiven deserve my respect, or any of atheist’s respect for that matter? I think not. In an atheist’s understanding, that’s basically the Christians’ version of telling me that I don’t really understand what I believe and believe me it just sounds like “you’re stupid” to me. They condemn us (not that I’m affected though) for having our own individual beliefs but the idea of being delinquent to their written rules over and over again is considerable? That’s what you call a solid hypocrisy.

    I wouldn’t tackle the things mention in this article regarding the traditions of risking their own lives to touch some statue they worship because it’s their tradition and I don’t dare interfere with that though personally, I won’t ever do that. They don’t even care about getting hurt in a convention of millions of devotees, how else do you expect them to treat the poor’s welfare? They’re just disappointing, the government and the church’s officials. They either are the culprits or they just let it happen, they’re all just the same. They’re the biggest hypocrites.

    As for the local media, which I really really really really hate, they suck big time. They are the ultimate famewhores who benefit from capitalism through manipulative way of information delivery. They really are the media, a corrupt medium of information. That pretty much sums up how disgusted I am with them, I wanna throw up.

    I like the way you described Pope as a terrorist. You had a smart logic there and people aren’t reading anything comprehensively. No one actually does these days. The government? Ugh, that word burns in my tongue already. I already accepted that a perfect government is impossible, as well as a perfect religious leader is impossible too. That’s why I was like “wtf?” when GMA-7 commented “..parang tao din pala ang Papa, tumatawa, naiinis…”, so uhmmm, what do you expect? I hate the way they immortalize someone not mainly because of what he stands for and what he did but because he is a Christian. They give credits to someone for mainly being Christian but is underrated in doing the things he really want everyone to acknowledge. That’s why they almost obsess over what the Pope had for breakfast, lunch and dinner rather than really listen to what he said about the important issues that was actually the purpose of his visit. Ugh.

  8. Reblogged this on enjoylifemister's Blog and commented:
    I agree

  9. Haters says:

    First of all don’t be a hater! second I don’t give a shit if you are atheist crap!
    Of course we all are when we are born dumbass! If you hate catholic then hate your parents shithead! not the pope! and probably you must be a loser! and Fuck You! for calling our pope a terrorist! If you have problem with the government then don’t involved the man! and you know nothing about it! “TRY” to sympathy?? you jump to the conclusion already….You are just one of the asshole trying to be smartass among others! I saw hell in earth! and you don’t! I was there in Yolanda and we never blame the religion neither the government! and people like you is one of the reason why we don’t unite! I am Catholic I have Faith but I still have the Free Will to think for myself and take all responsibility of my action! and they don’t said that to touch the statue! WTF! nobody force them to do so! but people believe in it and so do you whatever religion you have!
    Do you even know why the catholic have sculptures at the 1st place dumbass??!!! you pity religion will never explain you that! you are the HYPOCRITE! because you are all close minded! or no mind at all! You just want to be famous, and what if I say this Fuck your Religion!!! How’s that sound?! isn’t that hurts too!? and I don’t care if you are ashamed of being a catholic! as if you are telling us that we should be ashamed for ourselves’! Learn to respect other religions go deep alone for you to understand more about it! Peace brother!

    • Kudryavka says:

      Did you… actually read the whole thing?

    • speachy20 says:

      I’m a catholic but.. plz.. read the article first… he didn’t say the that Pope was a terrorist against humanity.. He meant that the Pope was a terrorist to the philippine gov’t (read “aquino administration”) because in contrast to their corruption and exploitation of the poor, Pope Francis and his ideologies about being anti-corruption and pro-poor threaten them… peace yow.. (^__^)v

      • Ed says:

        Loslos ninyo. It is clear the pig author is branding the Pope as Terrorist. Otherwise, he needs to re-write this article in a respectful non-offending manner. If the author doesn’t care, who are you by the way? Too little knowledge of something is very dangerous. Focus on belief and not the people around. It doesn’t affect yours so why bother?

  10. Macoy1002 says:

    I agree with most but disagree with some of it. Thank you still for writing an honest opinion regarding the feelings you had during the last Papal visit. For those who still ask the ‘Francis the terrorist’ post, kindly read the rest of the article and you would understand. Mr. Author correct me if I’m wrong, but is that post meant to be a criticism of the Aquino Administration?

  11. I think to say that the Pope is a REVOLUTIONARY, rather than a “Terrorist” would have been a more appropriate and politically correct term 🙂

    • ra says:

      Indeed. I didn’t use the word ‘terrorist’ to reflect my own view of him, but rather, as an expression of what the government really thinks of him.

Leave a Reply

